August Postcards

The theme for this month in the Popular Patchwork forum postcard swap was “Someone who inspires me”. This teapot came from Cathy in New Zealand. She says “My grandmother was my biggest inspiration. She received a painted tea-pot as a wedding present almost 80 years ago and I am sitting looking at it as I make this postcard!” Wonderful. 🙂

I had a lot of trouble with this theme and it took a while to settle on an idea. I eventually chose the Underground Railroad, with the bravery of those who tried to escape and the courage of those who helped as my inspiration. I made a 4″ block named Catch Me If You Can, then promptly managed to chop off one side as I trimmed up the postcard! Oh well…

 This went to Helen.

Wonder what theme Katy has up her sleeve for September???

About sheppeylass

Mum of 4, I live on the Isle of Sheppey in Kent. I've always sewn but the quilting bug snagged me a couple of years ago and now, with the encouragement of my artist husband, I'm spreading my wings into textile art.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to August Postcards

  1. maggi21 says:

    Nice cards even with the bit chopped off. Lovely to meet up with you on Saturday. Hope you had a good day at Alton Towers.

Leave a comment